●父娘リレー – Father-Daughter-Relay

先のブログでご紹介しましたとおり、八幡湯のある御器所(ごきそ)に伝わる民話を初めて英訳したのは私が高校生の頃でした。その事が、どういういきさつか?当時、中日新聞に記事として取り上げていただいていました。私の留学先はアメリカ(バージニア州)。ワシントンD.C.から車で1時間ほどのエリアで、スピーチのチャンスがある度にこのカァミィ君と民話を紹介してきました☆ 確か…フンドシというものを伝えるのが妙な感じに難しかったように記憶しています。(笑)

As I wrote in my previous blog posts, I translated a folk tail of Gokiso, where Hachiman_yu is, when I was a high school student. And introduced this thunder boy charactor, Karmi, together with this folk tail when ever I had a chance to make a speech during my 1 school year stay in VA, USA. As far as I remember, it was a little difficult to tell what the FUNDOSHI ‘loin cloth’ is.

■Read This folk story in English (英語で読んでみる!?) → Thunder-boy and Loincloth
■なごや弁でこの民話を読む (Try it with Nagoya dialect?!) → ごきその民話

Leave a comment